Animal Newquay Open - Ash Brothers Take Top Honours

Written by: Press Release

Submitted: 17th November 2008

The Animal Newquay Open crowned the 2008 UK Pro Surf Tour champions at Fistral this Sunday. The 1 star event supported by Animal consists of Men's Open, Women's Open and Pro Junior divisions with a prize purse of £2750.

Animal Newquay Open finalists

Animal Newquay Open finalists

The event was the 9th and final event on the UK Pro Surf Tour 2008 and it was a tense day of competing with three surfers all close enough in points to take the tour crown.

Competitors were greeted with good 3 to 4 foot conditions at Fistral this morning to commence the second round of the Men's Open which saw the shock exit of tour leader Sam Lamiroy.

Despite the November weather spectators were out in force on the beach to support their favourites and weren't disappointed with some outstanding performances including a 9.64 ride and the King of the Waves title being awarded to local Newquay surfer Oli Adams in the quarter finals, the highest wave score of the contest.

The Semis saw the progression of Alan Stokes and Rueben Pearce into the final, favourites to take the tour title, and joining them the brothers from Bude, Joss Ash and Rueben Ash.

It was an incredibly close final but in the end it was Reuben Ash who shone through to take the title of Animal Newquay Open 2008 champion with his brother Joss Ash in second, Reuben Pearce in third and Animal rider Alan Stokes in fourth place.

Animal Newquay Open Women's finalists

Women's finalists

The Women's Open division was a truly multinational affair with surfers from the UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. In the end Nicole Morgan of Ireland, who has dominated the tour throughout the year took first place with Daisy Thomas from New Zealand in second, Raine Jackson from Australia in third and Holly Donnelly of Newquay in fourth place.

The Relentless Money move went to Joss Ash for a radical manoeuvre performed in his Quarter final heat. King of 'Queen of the Wave' Award went to Raine Jackson for a 8.66 wave score.